Jesus died on the Cross to save man from sin and allow him to share in everlasting life with God in Heaven. 

The seven sacraments are the main way that Jesus provides the supernatural gift of his saving grace. He instituted the sacraments and gave them to his Church to administer to the faithful.

The tangible signs of the sacraments let us know that God is sharing his love and grace with us and making us holy.

Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist are Sacraments of Initiation that bring us into full communion with the Church.

Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick are Sacraments of Healing that restore our physical and spiritual health.

Matrimony and Holy Orders are Sacraments of Vocation that allow us to serve each other in Christ.

The sacraments connect man with the love of Jesus on the Cross:

What Jesus did on Earth, He still does:

Encountering his grace, life, salvation, and forgiveness:

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

Catechism of the Catholic Church 1210

Outward signs, instituted by Christ, to give grace:

Perceptible signs of an invisible reality:

But you are not in the flesh, you are in the Spirit, if the Spirit of God really dwells in you. Any one who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to Him. But if Christ is in you, although your bodies are dead because of sin, your spirits are alive because of righteousness. If the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also through his Spirit who dwells in you.

Romans 8: 9-11

Experiencing the presence of the Lord:

God accompanies man throughout his life in the sacraments:

In the course of time, the Lord Jesus forms His Church by means of the sacraments emanating from His plenitude. By these she makes her members participants in the Mystery of the Death and Resurrection of Christ, in the grace of the Holy Spirit who gives her life and movement.

Pope Paul VI, Solemni hac Liturgia, June 30, 1968

Instituted by Jesus and given to the Church:

There are 3 parts to each sacrament:

The Truth, Goodness, and Beauty of the Catholic Church

Monks in motion:

Share this page with friends and family to start a conversation about your faith.

Don’t miss a post. Learn more about the Catholic Church and strengthen your Catholic faith.

Find more Fiercely Catholic video issues here.

Subscribe here.

Book a Fiercely Catholic program at your next conference, retreat, or other Catholic event.