Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross

From the earliest days of the Church, faithful Christians have made trips to the Holy Land to follow the footsteps of Jesus on the actual path to his Crucifixion where He gave his life for our salvation.

These pious people would stop along the way to say specific prayers and devotions at spots where specific events had occurred as Jesus carried his Cross to Jerusalem to die.

Pilgrimages to the Holy Land could take years and proved to be expensive and even dangerous. They were not possible for everyone so some Catholics created stations outside their own churches based on Sacred Scripture and Apostolic Tradition. Eventually, the stations were moved inside.

Only a simple cross is necessary to mark each station. Any additional images, figures, or other artwork is optional.

The 14 Stations of the Cross are also known as the Way of the Cross or the Via Dolorosa, the Way of Sorrows.

Although they can be prayed at any time, the Stations of the Cross are traditionally prayed as a penance on the Fridays during Lent, especially on Good Friday.

Remembering Jesus’ last day as a man on earth:

Significant events during Jesus’ Passion and Death:

The soldiers led Him away inside the palace, that is, the praetorium, and assembled the whole cohort. They clothed Him in purple and, weaving a crown of thorns, placed it on Him. They began to salute Him with, “Hail, King of the Jews!” and kept striking his head with a reed and spitting upon Him. They knelt before Him in homage. And when they had mocked Him, they stripped Him of the purple cloak, dressed Him in his own clothes, and led Him out to crucify Him.

Mark 15: 16-20

Spiritually accompanying Jesus on the way to Jerusalem:

Christians were naturally drawn to retrace Jesus’ steps:

The prayer of the Church venerates and honors the Heart of Jesus just as it invokes his most holy Name. It adores the incarnate Word and his Heart which, out of love for men, He allowed to be pierced by our sins. Christian prayer loves to follow the Way of the Cross in the Savior’s steps. The stations from the Praetorium to Golgotha and the tomb trace the way of Jesus, who by his holy Cross has redeemed the world.

Catechism of the Catholic Church 2669

Meditating on the suffering of Jesus and his great love:

The Stations of the Cross is a prayer:

Recognizing that all of life is a pilgrimage:

This year we have also walked along the Way of the Cross, the Via Crucis, evoking again with faith the stages of Christ’s Passion. Our eyes have seen again the sufferings and anguish that our Redeemer had to bear in the hour of great sorrow, which marked the climax of his earthly mission. Jesus dies on the Cross and lies in the tomb. The day of Good Friday, so permeated by human sadness and religious silence, closes in the silence of meditation and prayer. In returning home, we too, like those who were present at the sacrifice of Jesus, “beat our breasts”, recalling what happened. Is it possible to remain indifferent before the death of God? For us, for our salvation he became man and died on the Cross..

Pope Benedict XVI, Good Friday Via Crucis, 21 March 2008

There are different ways of praying the Stations of the Cross:

Expressing our faith in a physical way:

Just as it happened in the time of Jesus:

The Truth, Goodness, and Beauty of the Catholic Church

Preaching and teaching the truth:

Share this page with friends and family to start a conversation about your faith.

Don’t miss a post. Learn more about the Catholic Church and strengthen your Catholic faith.

Find more Fiercely Catholic video issues here.

Subscribe here.

Book a Fiercely Catholic program at your next conference, retreat, or other Catholic event.